This is the "Intro" page of the "General History Research Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

General History Research Help  

Last Updated: Dec 30, 2016 URL: http://usnashville.libguides.com/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Intro Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books in our Library

Most history books in the Hassenfeld Library are on the East Mezzanine in the 900s section. Check these specific sections for more information:

  • 909: World History
  • 930 - 939: Ancient History
    •    931: Ancient China
    •    932: Ancient Egypt
    •    934: Ancient India
    •    935: Mesopotamia
    •    937: Ancient Rome/Italy
    •    938: Ancient Greece
  • 940 - 949: European History
    •    940.53: World War II
    •    941-2: British Isles/UK
    •    943: Germany
    •    944: France
    •    945: Italy
    •    946: Spain
    •    947: Russia
  • 950 - 959: Asian & Middle Eastern History
    •    951: China
    •    952: Japan
    •    954: Indian Subcontinent
    •    956: Israel/Palestine
  • 960 - 969: African History
  • 970 - 979: North American History
    •    973: United States (General)
    •    973.7: Civil War
    •    976.8: Tennessee
  • 980 - 989: South American History
 

Search the Library Catalog

 

General Databases

The following databases cover a wide range of topics, including history:

Academic OneFile (Gale/TEL)

A large selection of periodicals, both academic and popular

ArtSTOR

A vast collection of digital images

Britannica Online

The world-class encyclopedia

JSTOR

An excellent database of scholarly journals

Student Resources in Context (Gale/TEL)

A great all-in-one database, with reference works, periodicals, primary sources, and more

World Book (TEL)

A good encyclopedia with some nice features, including maps and timelines

 

Quick Links

 

Citation Tools

NoodleTools is a great tool for taking notes, recording your sources, and creating citations for footnotes and bibliographies.

Important: All students and staff must create a personal account in order to use NoodleTools. Ask a librarian if you need help.

If NoodleTools asks you to revalidate your account, look on our database passwords page for our school/library username and password.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) offers an array of fantastic resources aimed at students and instructors. Look here for help with citations and style guides, creating an outline, and other steps in the research and writing process.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip