This is the "Intro" page of the "English 6: Debate" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 6: Debate  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2016 URL: http://usnashville.libguides.com/english6debate Print Guide RSS Updates
Intro Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Guidelines

This guide gives you access to some great resources for researching your debate topic. If you need help with a resource, email Ms. Pritchard (kpritchard@email.usn.org) or Ms. Buxton (mbuxton@email.usn.org).

NOTE: To use the library's online databases, you may need to enter a username and password. All usernames/passwords for our databases are available on the Library Resource Page (USN login required).

 

Books

These series will help you find different opinions on your topic:

  • Current Controversies (10 titles)
  • In Controversy (2 titles)
  • Opposing Viewpoints (14 titles)

TIP: Do a Series Search in the Library Catalog to find books in these series.

 

Databases

InfoTrac Newsstand has up-to-the-minute articles from a wide collection of newspapers and other news outlets, both American and international, with archives going back to 1980. (Gale/TEL)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context has great resources for controversial topics, including reference sources, periodicals, and pro/con essays. (Gale/TEL)

Research in Context covers a wide range of topics with lots of up-to-date information as well as historical context, plus images, videos, public radio programs, and more. (Gale/TEL)

 

Quick Links

 

Citation Tools

NoodleTools is a great tool for taking notes, recording your sources, and creating citations for footnotes and bibliographies.

Important: All students and staff must create a personal account in order to use NoodleTools. Ask a librarian if you need help.

If NoodleTools asks you to revalidate your account, look on our database passwords page for our school/library username and password.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) offers an array of fantastic resources aimed at students and instructors. Look here for help with citations and style guides, creating an outline, and other steps in the research and writing process.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip